My first blog

This is my first blog. Here I am going to write some words about myself and explain my point of view to digital humanities and all its components. I hope, I will do my best and improve myself everytime.

I was always interested in humanities at school – English, History, Literature.  Then upon the recommendation of my schoolteacher, I was enrolled in English classes at one of the language schools in my city. With my strong work ethic and innate curiosity, I faced the challenge of learning a new language. The less I knew, the more I wanted to learn. After graduating from secondary school, I entered the philological department at Tomsk State University. There, I chose to study translation along with its additional components, such as literature, and linguistics. Additionally, my research interest lied in study and thorough analysis of speech strategies and tactics on material and data provided by journalists, as well as online and paper-based resources (e.g. The White House Official Website, “The Washington Post” and “Rossiyskaya Gazeta”). This all provided me with necessary informative and academic tools that helped to elaborate on the final thesis “The Image of US President Barack Obama in Russian and English-speaking media sources.”

Frankly speaking, this is my first time meeting Digital Humanities so close. This course at Darmstadt University has opened to me new sides of DH, that I could never thought of. Of course, I had to deal with digital tools quite often during my studies at university, but I had never thought of that as a field of studies. When I started to study Humanities, I did not recognize it as Digital Humanities in spite of using digital tools.

Nowadays it is impossible to live without digital tools, especially when it concerns scientific work. I used different tools, such as e-dictionaries, SDL-Trados, programs for content analysis of texts. It is also necessary in both literary and textual studies. One can process a huge amount of data, starting with digital paleography and finishing with distant reading. Digital methods of visualization help to present different processes, such as architectural history of a city, language changes, geography of a style or register. Digital Humanities form new models of thinking based on synthesis of information technologies and achievements of humanities.

I am convinced that the digital age has brought a revolution to the scientific world.  Digital Humanities with all the tools is a great opportunity to all the people who have to deal with researching. Digital Humanities can answer social, cultural, historical, philological questions, and that’s all with the help of new technologies. It also makes possible new kinds of research.

Kommentar verfassen

